Help! I need to make sunsets!

Started by Allegro, March 08, 2007, 12:45:40 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Allegro

Sorry, but I'm new to TG2, and I just can't seem to figure out how to make nice sunsets.  Mind you, I'm also a perfectionist.  I'm hoping to make something similar to the two attached.  I'm not concerned about the ground, as I want to make these into sky boxes for Maya.  I can't figure out how to make the sun a visible disk... the option for that under the sun seems to just make it a point, and increasing the radius seems to make the sun lose it's brightness.

If anyone could help me set something up it would be super appreciated.  I figured that such a sky would be simple... but I just can't seem to get it! 

Allegro

I actually need the sun to be at about the height of the first image... I want to make it into a sky because I want to do lighting with it, but I also want to have a shot of the sun  looking about that height / size in one of my shots.

DiscoBall

Attach as TGD file and we'll see what we can do for ya :)

Visible disk? In that first picture wasn't the sun a visible disk? Although its covered by clouds a bit, all you need to do is lessen the clouds ;)

Allegro

Sorry for the misunderstanding, those are both photos.  I want to make something similar to that, but I'm just not having any luck.

rcallicotte

So this is Disney World.  Can we live here?

dhavalmistry

lowering your sun's elevation will help. It will make your sky orange and then you can adjust your sky color to your liking.
"His blood-terragen level is 99.99%...he is definitely drunk on Terragen!"

Allegro

Turns out the biggest problem I had, was that I was turning off "render surfaces" so that the ground wouldn't render... didn't realize that that would get rid of the sun disk too.

Silly me.

I'm getting much better results now.

cyphyr