Planetside Software Forums

General => File Sharing => Topic started by: mhaze on November 08, 2016, 10:44:50 AM

Title: Voyage home 2 and 4k renders Now works
Post by: mhaze on November 08, 2016, 10:44:50 AM
I hope

As promised:

http://www.mickhazelgrove.co.uk/downloads.html (http://www.mickhazelgrove.co.uk/downloads.html)
Title: Re: Voyage home 2 and 4k renders
Post by: Dune on November 08, 2016, 10:48:12 AM
Curious... thanks, Mick.
Title: Re: Voyage home 2 and 4k renders
Post by: Kadri on November 08, 2016, 11:22:42 AM
"Internal Server Error"
Can't download it.
Title: Re: Voyage home 2 and 4k renders
Post by: archonforest on November 08, 2016, 12:10:22 PM
Me neither... :(
Title: Re: Voyage home 2 and 4k renders
Post by: yossam on November 08, 2016, 12:31:44 PM
Ditto........... :o
Title: Re: Voyage home 2 and 4k renders
Post by: mhaze on November 08, 2016, 01:13:48 PM
Ok apparently I have the same problem in the meantime here's the 2k version
Title: Re: Voyage home 2 and 4k renders Now works
Post by: mhaze on November 08, 2016, 01:37:46 PM
Should now work
Title: Re: Voyage home 2 and 4k renders Now works
Post by: Kadri on November 08, 2016, 01:41:03 PM

Yes it works.
Looks very nicely detailed :)
Title: Re: Voyage home 2 and 4k renders Now works
Post by: mhaze on November 08, 2016, 01:55:57 PM
Good and thanks :)
Title: Re: Voyage home 2 and 4k renders Now works
Post by: Dune on November 08, 2016, 02:34:08 PM
Rightclick and save as....
Title: Re: Voyage home 2 and 4k renders Now works
Post by: luvsmuzik on November 08, 2016, 02:41:08 PM
Your gallery is flat out awesome! Outstanding renders!
Title: Re: Voyage home 2 and 4k renders Now works
Post by: mhaze on November 08, 2016, 03:28:33 PM
Thanks
Title: Re: Voyage home 2 and 4k renders Now works
Post by: DannyG on November 12, 2016, 11:20:35 PM
Looks good Mick
Title: Re: Voyage home 2 and 4k renders Now works
Post by: bobbystahr on November 13, 2016, 03:48:25 AM
Very nice, that will go into desktop rotation if you don't mind awfully. Stopped by your most impressive gallery while there.....how the hell didja do Waves? stunning image.
Title: Re: Voyage home 2 and 4k renders Now works
Post by: Dune on November 13, 2016, 06:25:08 AM
I echo Bobby; stunning image. The lighting with the shadow on the left bit is fantastic, clouds are really great, nice shorelines and vegetation. There are a few issues, but that doesn't take away the whole mood and quality of the scene. Thanks for posting, Mick.
Title: Re: Voyage home 2 and 4k renders Now works
Post by: mhaze on November 13, 2016, 08:56:07 AM
Cheers Dune, Interested to hear the issues - I find I reach a point with images when I have just had enough!  So I would be interested to see if our ideas are the the same or if there is some glaring horror I've missed. 
Title: Re: Voyage home 2 and 4k renders Now works
Post by: Dune on November 13, 2016, 03:40:09 PM
They aren't really big, as said, but still...
1: Some of the grass clumps float, adding nasty shadowy ridges under them. If you'd use rotation with the terrain, that would be better, I guess. I tend to make my grasses now that the stems are more extended undergrouind, especially on the verges of a patch. A little minus offset of the object also helps sometimes (unless it's to shallow and ducks completely).
2. Tiny unrendered part so it seems, due to extreme displacement and not enough tolerance. Just a bit of cloning would do.
3. I think I would extend the grass (procedurally or not) further into the landscape. On the left it has a very abrupt end, but that may also be because of a ridge.
Title: Re: Voyage home 2 and 4k renders Now works
Post by: mhaze on November 13, 2016, 04:09:19 PM
Cheers Dune.  The basic grass is tg grass and I must remember this and either add new grass or smaller patch sizes.
Title: Re: Voyage home 2 and 4k renders Now works
Post by: bobbystahr on November 13, 2016, 04:48:23 PM
Cheers Dune.  The basic grass is tg grass and I must remember this and either add new grass or smaller patch sizes.

Also with floating stuff I find a having Compute Terrain at the end of my shader stack as it's anchor often solves the problem
Title: Re: Voyage home 2 and 4k renders Now works
Post by: Dune on November 14, 2016, 06:52:06 AM
Or a compute normal. And if using a compute terrain, lower patch size, or grass will still be floating!
Title: Re: Voyage home 2 and 4k renders Now works
Post by: bobbystahr on November 14, 2016, 01:59:29 PM
Or a compute normal. And if using a compute terrain, lower patch size, or grass will still be floating!

Hmmm didn't know that about the Compute terrain...never had floating with the Compute terrain but will watch for it...Wasn't aware a Compute normal would work as an anchor . Thanks for that tip.
Title: Re: Voyage home 2 and 4k renders Now works
Post by: Dune on November 15, 2016, 06:38:08 AM
Afaik, the heights are updated in the surface shaders after the (first, if any) compute terrain, but the normals aren't. And with a patch size of 20m (computing average height(?)/normal of that patch) of a compute terrain at the end, you can imagine a little hillock of 2m and 2m wide, big grass clumps will still be floating here and there.
Title: Re: Voyage home 2 and 4k renders Now works
Post by: bobbystahr on November 15, 2016, 04:28:12 PM
Afaik, the heights are updated in the surface shaders after the (first, if any) compute terrain, but the normals aren't. And with a patch size of 20m (computing average height(?)/normal of that patch) of a compute terrain at the end, you can imagine a little hillock of 2m and 2m wide, big grass clumps will still be floating here and there.

Good explanation, thanks Ulco.
Title: Re: Voyage home 2 and 4k renders Now works
Post by: zzu on November 26, 2016, 05:44:54 AM
I was thinking that you shared the project file, haha. But good image, should've made an animation out of this.