Seems this has been this way for a long time, but when I start entering an object but decide to cancel, the read node is still added to the node network and a warning message is displayed. Is there a reason it can't be simply canceled (seems like that's what the word cancel means.)
I've always agreed with you but... that's how the behavior has remained. Perhaps some day it will be changed. It's not a technical limitation as far as I know.