Planetside Software Forums

Support => Terragen Support => Topic started by: dwilson on July 05, 2008, 11:27:03 am

Title: Dissapearing Terrain in TP4
Post by: dwilson on July 05, 2008, 11:27:03 am
I have a file from TP2 that when I load it into TP4 the terrain doesn't show up in the preview/render.  I rebuilt the scene using the same settings in TP4 and the terrain still didn't appear.  I think that negative displacement is causing it.  In Power fractals any negative displacement amplitude causes the terrain to dissapear.  I am also having the same problem when I make a group of layers child layers to a surface layer.
Title: Re: Dissapearing Terrain in TP4
Post by: Oshyan on July 10, 2008, 02:21:00 am
I believe this may be an example of an issue we're aware of. Is your terrain a heightfield or procedural?

- Oshyan
Title: Re: Dissapearing Terrain in TP4
Post by: dwilson on July 10, 2008, 11:23:33 am
It is a Procedural terrain.  I figured out the part of making the layers child layers.  I connected one of the outputs to the wrong node in the node network.  I also figured out a workaround for the negative displacement until the issue gets fixed.  I take the power fractal and make it the color function and displacement function of a surface layer and then I can use negative displacement in the surface layer.
Thanks,
Devin