Planetside Software Forums

Support => Terragen Support => Topic started by: moodflow on November 14, 2008, 09:32:41 am

Title: closing a window within TG2, sometimes minimizes TG2
Post by: moodflow on November 14, 2008, 09:32:41 am
This is more of an annoyance, but something that will keep TG2 "polished up".

If you have a sub-window open within TG2, then close it (by hitting the X in the corner), it minimizes all of TG2.  If you have a ton of stuff going on within TG2, this can get annoying.   It doesn't happen all the time, and I haven't been able to put my finger on exactly when it would do this.  It might have something to do with objects.
Title: Re: closing a window within TG2, sometimes minimizes TG2
Post by: reck on November 14, 2008, 10:18:53 am
I've also noticed a couple of slightly strange things going on with dialogue/child windows as well. Sometimes the dialogue will disappear behind the main TG window. Like you I've also experienced the TG window minimising as well although I've  only started to notice this in the latest beta release.
Title: Re: closing a window within TG2, sometimes minimizes TG2
Post by: RArcher on November 14, 2008, 10:59:09 am
Here's another mildly annoying dialog issue:  You can no longer turn off the population counter warning messages from popping up.  Even when you uncheck the show warnings box and close the window, as soon as you get another warning it pops up again and is rechecked.
Title: Re: closing a window within TG2, sometimes minimizes TG2
Post by: rcallicotte on November 14, 2008, 11:17:06 am
I've never seen this.  Is it always or only under certain circumstances?

Quote from: moodflow on November 14, 2008, 09:32:41 am
If you have a sub-window open within TG2, then close it (by hitting the X in the corner), it minimizes all of TG2. 
Title: Re: closing a window within TG2, sometimes minimizes TG2
Post by: Mohawk20 on November 14, 2008, 01:35:19 pm
It's definitely not always, but it's happened to me more than once, in a few older versions, as well as the latest build...
Title: Re: closing a window within TG2, sometimes minimizes TG2
Post by: dandelO on November 14, 2008, 07:49:54 pm
Similar to some issues I'm having with dialog windows and the render window disappearing behind the main TG app screen and needing 2 or three taskbar button clicks to restore them back to the top.
Title: Re: closing a window within TG2, sometimes minimizes TG2
Post by: jo on November 14, 2008, 10:29:54 pm
Hi everyone,

It would really help if you could say what OS you were using when experiencing these problems.

Regards,

Jo
Title: Re: closing a window within TG2, sometimes minimizes TG2
Post by: PG on November 15, 2008, 03:37:43 am
I've never had the minimizing one I don't think but the dialog windows hiding behind the main window happens loads of times, I think always on density shaders, power fractals, that kind of thing. Only seems to be when using the node network. I'm using XP SP2 x86 and Vista Ultimate SP1 x64, happens the same on both.
Title: Re: closing a window within TG2, sometimes minimizes TG2
Post by: reck on November 15, 2008, 06:15:38 am
I'm using vista home premium x32
Title: Re: closing a window within TG2, sometimes minimizes TG2
Post by: Mohawk20 on November 15, 2008, 07:30:26 am
XP Pro 32-bits SP3
Title: Re: closing a window within TG2, sometimes minimizes TG2
Post by: dandelO on November 15, 2008, 07:47:13 am
XP - SP2 - 32bit.
Title: Re: closing a window within TG2, sometimes minimizes TG2
Post by: jo on November 15, 2008, 08:17:34 pm
Hi,

Are those of you having problems using network views/3D Previews/shader previews in separate windows at all? Or are you just using the one main window?

Regards,

Jo
Title: Re: closing a window within TG2, sometimes minimizes TG2
Post by: lonewolf on November 16, 2008, 03:35:37 am
I've had the closing problem too. Win2k sp5.
Another annoyance, when texturing objects I like to make the multi shader stay open while I open and close default shaders.
The annoying thing is that the default shaders want to open at the bottom of the multi shader, which in most cases is almost entirely off the screen. Any chance of windows defaulting to the centre of the TG window or screen? Something simple like that.

Iain
Title: Re: closing a window within TG2, sometimes minimizes TG2
Post by: PG on November 16, 2008, 04:33:38 am
When I open a new Navigation window, preview location, node network window, 3d preview, and undo history then switch between them, only the one I switch to remains visible. It happens when I open 3 or more. Also, if I open a new navigation window, then close it at some point, the integrated navigation panel in the main window turns into a white block meaning I have to use the navigation window until I restart TG2.
Title: Re: closing a window within TG2, sometimes minimizes TG2
Post by: lonewolf on November 16, 2008, 06:37:22 am
The integration panel thing happens to me all the time. All i do is close the 3d view and re-open it.
The refresh seems to work. I guess it's not being redrawn properly.

Iain
Title: Re: closing a window within TG2, sometimes minimizes TG2
Post by: Mohawk20 on November 16, 2008, 06:50:27 am
Quote from: jo on November 15, 2008, 08:17:34 pm
Hi,

Are those of you having problems using network views/3D Previews/shader previews in separate windows at all? Or are you just using the one main window?

Regards,

Jo


I only use the main window, except for settings of shaders.
Title: Re: closing a window within TG2, sometimes minimizes TG2
Post by: j meyer on November 16, 2008, 10:07:01 am
Hey Jo,
My experience is that the more i use separate view windows the more
of these UI quirks i get.The white block PG mentioned,disappearing
floaters,the 3d Preview closing while the node view gets expanded
and so on and so forth.

And i agree with lonewolf about the additional windows opening at
the bottom of the already open one btw.
J.
Title: Re: closing a window within TG2, sometimes minimizes TG2
Post by: moodflow on November 16, 2008, 11:23:50 am
I think this may be happening exclusively when looking at subwindows for objects.

For instance, open up a subtree for an object (ie the shaders), then close out the shaders window.  It will minimize all of TG2.
Title: Re: closing a window within TG2, sometimes minimizes TG2
Post by: PG on November 16, 2008, 12:11:15 pm
Tried it and it didn't happen for me. But I did get an error for loading a texture, odd in itself because the textures are built into the model file, and the window closes immediately. I haven't set them to hide.
Title: Re: closing a window within TG2, sometimes minimizes TG2
Post by: dandelO on November 16, 2008, 09:10:38 pm
QuoteFor instance, open up a subtree for an object (ie the shaders), then close out the shaders window.  It will minimize all of TG2.


I get that too but instead of properly minimizing, TG just 'falls behind' any other open windows I have on my screen, then it takes several clicks on the TG taskbar button to restore it to the top. It usually happens if I close a settings panel that's not in the main node network view. e.g. a shader inside another network tree, or object.

Sometimes the render window does this too, in the hangtime between the GI pass and the start of the actual rendering.
It also happens in the hangtime between buckets, if complexed settings are involved. Not always replicable.
Title: Re: closing a window within TG2, sometimes minimizes TG2
Post by: PG on November 17, 2008, 04:27:41 am
That happens to me with Windows Media player a lot.
Title: Re: closing a window within TG2, sometimes minimizes TG2
Post by: jo on November 17, 2008, 06:58:08 am
Hi,

Quote from: dandelO on November 16, 2008, 09:10:38 pm
I get that too but instead of properly minimizing, TG just 'falls behind' any other open windows I have on my screen, then it takes several clicks on the TG taskbar button to restore it to the top.


This is a very important point. I have never had TG2 actually minimise when closing one of its windows. Minimising is when the window itself is no longer on the screen, and the only representation of it is the button in the task bar. If TG2 were minimised then if you close the windows of all other applications you had running you would not see the TG2 window on the screen. However, what I have seen before is what dandelO describing. This where another window comes to the front instead of the TG2 window you were expecting. If you were using other applications with their windows maximised then when their window came forward it might look like TG2 was minimised. The difference would be that if you close the windows of all other applications the TG2 window would still be visible on the screen. It's pretty important that we're clear what is happening, and making a distinction between actual minimising and just another window coming to the front.

TG2 actually minimising when clicking a window's close button would be a new problem, one I've never seen before and something pretty weird.

However, the problem with another window coming to the front is a longstanding one, and one I've spent quite some time looking into. After messing around with other Windows apps, with TG2 not running, I've found it's actually not possible to 100% predict which window will come to the front when another window is closed. My feeling is that this is something inherent to Windows, but it's more obvious with TG2 because we use windows in a way which isn't that common. It is a pain, but at this point I'm not sure it's something fixable.

QuoteIt usually happens if I close a settings panel that's not in the main node network view. e.g. a shader inside another network tree, or object.


Yes, it seems most likely to happen with a window which is floating, like a settings panel ( official name is "param floater" ). However I think it could also happen with other windows as well. I can actually reproduce the problem using the main window and a couple of param floaters, but I can't figure out why it causes another application's window to come forward. I'll will look into it more during the beta period, I may have a "Eureka" moment :-).

Regards,

Jo