Planetside Software Forums

General => Open Discussion => Topic started by: rcallicotte on March 25, 2009, 08:52:32 am

Title: Modo 401
Post by: rcallicotte on March 25, 2009, 08:52:32 am
What do you guys think?  http://www.luxology.com/modo/401.introduction/
Title: Re: Modo 401
Post by: domdib on March 25, 2009, 09:22:08 am
Astoundingly realistic, in the hands of those who know how to use it. Pity it's also astoundingly expensive  :(
Title: Re: Modo 401
Post by: rcallicotte on March 25, 2009, 09:42:25 am
It's a lot less than some of the competitors and seems to have its own niche.  Still expensive, I understand.  Hopefully, it will have less bugs than its predecessors.
Title: Re: Modo 401
Post by: Seth on March 25, 2009, 12:00:55 pm
Oo
very realistic !
damn i wish to be able to use this kind of software :)
Title: Re: Modo 401
Post by: neuspadrin on March 25, 2009, 01:49:51 pm
I want so much to get into 3d modeling and the such and to fully understand it, but just always been too busy, and too poor.  Most attempts made with blender it sometimes starts to piss me off and I've always had issues with blender on my system with the ui acting up and not displaying properly, which makes the already very limited ui very much harder to learn.

wish i had the cash to blow on 3dsmax, maya, lightwave, etc.

Hmm,  I should check my schools software to see their price... Afterall, I got CS3 premium design suite for just over 300 bucks the other year. (convinced my parents for a Christmas present to help out on it some)


----------------

hmm apparently we get a free version of maya ple, and 3dsmax or something, I'll have to check it out later.
Title: Re: Modo 401
Post by: rcallicotte on March 25, 2009, 02:11:14 pm
neuspadrin - if nothing else, check out Silo.  It's very inexpensive and is used in the industry.  Very easy to learn and loads of free tutorials.

I believe Modo has an education price, too.
Title: Re: Modo 401
Post by: latego on March 25, 2009, 02:36:06 pm
It is not really pricey, it costs exactly like Vue7 Infinite... now I understand why people are so enthusiastic about it.

Bye  :'(

P.S.: this IS a professional level application.
Title: Re: Modo 401
Post by: rcallicotte on March 25, 2009, 03:59:56 pm
The first video here reminds me of TG2's populations controls (mostly), but the second video makes me wish for this in TG2 - http://www.luxology.com/modo/401.replicators/


@latego - Yes, it is a professional application...actually, both Silo and Modo are, but Modo has a lot of capabilities not found in Silo (yet).
Title: Re: Modo 401
Post by: arisdemos on March 25, 2009, 08:54:05 pm
That Modo cholla (jumping) cactus really goes Xfrog at least one million spines better for ease of creation!.
Title: Re: Modo 401
Post by: latego on March 26, 2009, 05:22:47 am
What I find significant is the speed and scope of the improvements. E.g. in took YEARS for E-On to make ecosystems populate not only the upper faces of a shape and these guys, when they first release replicators, they immediately allow to do things like the cactis thorns, sprouting out from a convoluted shape drawn just out of some lines...

Also, I was astonished by the price of the thing: 895$, exactly as much as Vue 7 Infinite (and LESS than xStream) for a modeling/shading/rendering integrated package. AFAIK, only rigging and animations are not available in Modo. Vue 7 has the modeling capabilities of Bryce, no rigging and not-so-exciting animation.

I had seen lots of praise for Modo, but I did not really think much out it (burned by too much fanboyness on Renderosity Vue forum ;)) but now I think that these people are doing a great job and, perhaps even more important for the whole 3D world, becoming a real competitor for Autodesk Borg collective.

Bye!!!
Title: Re: Modo 401
Post by: Jack on March 26, 2009, 05:47:30 am
its getting packed with more and more garbage you don't even need :P
Title: Re: Modo 401
Post by: Cyber-Angel on March 26, 2009, 08:09:34 am
Quote from: wetbanana on March 26, 2009, 05:47:30 am
its getting packed with more and more garbage you don't even need :P


That would depend on what you where trying to do and the needs and work flow of the individual artist and the job they've been asked to do, so calling additional [added] features garbage is I think a little bit unfair; now not every artist will need all the features offered, this is  to be expected however they maybe those that do in a given set of circumstances.

What feature is or is not required is as with so many other things a subjective one and it is better to have a capability, that for the moment maybe of no use rather than not have it when a job is running behind and the client is starting to ask lots of questions about your time management skills!

I'd say that what one person considers of no importance might just be what some one else needs; all of the above aside Modo lives in the world of High-End software products in its software class, in this world there a core features that people expect, they also expect innovation in the software they use now if either or both of these is the cause of feature bloat then to bad, so sad as the saying goes.

The fact of the matter is that people have expectations of software to day that are vary different form not so long ago; to survive in this business today software has to be buzzword compliant other wise its sadly a case of "See ya don't want to be ya". End of Line.  ;D

Regards to you.

Cyber-Angel               
Title: Re: Modo 401
Post by: rcallicotte on March 26, 2009, 08:55:20 am
Shhhhh.  That's a secret.   8)


Quote from: latego on March 26, 2009, 05:22:47 am
...becoming a real competitor for Autodesk Borg collective.

Bye!!!




@wetbanana and @Cyber - This could be a big success, if Luxology doesn't ship a buggy product.  The bugs from 30x really didn't help anyone.
Title: Re: Modo 401
Post by: neuspadrin on March 26, 2009, 09:03:56 am
From what i can see if modo adds some effort into animation abilities they could have a very nice package deal.
Title: Re: Modo 401
Post by: rcallicotte on March 26, 2009, 09:45:26 am
If Luxology can add animation well, even if it isn't robust, then I'd say that would be the app to have (no bugs included). 
Title: Re: Modo 401
Post by: Jack on March 26, 2009, 09:38:05 pm
3ds max still has an enormous lead over modo and probably always will not because its a better program in general but the shear amount of plugins available for 3ds max gives 3ds max near limitless possibilities
Title: Re: Modo 401
Post by: Cyber-Angel on March 26, 2009, 10:12:35 pm
Quote from: wetbanana on March 26, 2009, 09:38:05 pm
3ds max still has an enormous lead over modo and probably always will not because its a better program in general but the shear amount of plugins available for 3ds max gives 3ds max near limitless possibilities


3DS Max is an older product that has been around longer than Modo has and so therefore has more 3rd party development such as plugins behind it; this should not be the be all and end all of what software [Any software] should be about.

At the end of the day its all about choice or it should be any way, not about petty "My Software has X,Y,Z features and yours doesn't" bragging rights that's like K-12 aged kids fighting over the best toys in the sandbox: in other words it gets old real quick; or to put it another way its like flogging a horse after its long dead same idea.

All good things come in time not just for those that wait and when Modo gets Animation, Hair and even Cloth simulation all well and good these things will naturally be implemented in a manor consistent with ease of use of the rest of application or there is not point in having them! For the here and now can we just say that Modo is a complement to rather than a replacement for other existing Digital Asset Creation software; all software has its strengths and weaknesses and that as they say is that!

;D

Regards to you.

Cyber-Angel         
Title: Re: Modo 401
Post by: rcallicotte on March 26, 2009, 10:37:23 pm
By saying Modo might be the software to have, it doesn't mean not having others.  Anyway, who can afford Max?  I can't.  LOL
Title: Re: Modo 401
Post by: reck on March 27, 2009, 06:54:55 am
Just been reading about modo on wikipedia, sounds like it has an interesting history.

One thing that did catch my eye though was that it's renderer actually scales linearly with the addition of more cores. So if you have 8 cores it would render almost 8 times faster than 1 core. I always thought that the more cores you added the less benefit you got from it, with TG for instance once you go above 4 cores to 6 or even 8 you don't actually get the full benefit of all those cores like you do with modo.

I assumed the TG way as the standard way all multi-threaded applications worked due to the overhead of all those cores. But if modo can create a renderer that can scale this well I guess there's hope for us as well.

Here's the actual quote

Quotemodo's renderer is multi-threaded and scales nearly linearly with the addition of processors or processor cores. That is, an 8-core machine will render a given image approximately eight times as fast as a single-core machine with the same per-core speed.


Title: Re: Modo 401
Post by: rcallicotte on March 27, 2009, 07:45:28 am
...and, according to their spokesman, a Nephilim processor will render with 16 individual processes.
Title: Re: Modo 401
Post by: domdib on March 27, 2009, 08:10:05 am
You do mean Nehalem, don't you? In other words, a Core i7 (or its Xeon equivalent)?
Title: Re: Modo 401
Post by: reck on March 27, 2009, 08:21:53 am
Quote from: calico on March 27, 2009, 07:45:28 am
...and, according to their spokesman, a Nephilim processor will render with 16 individual processes.


But will it render roughly 16 times faster? that's the part I found interesting that it actually scales up almost on a 1:1 ratio.
Title: Re: Modo 401
Post by: rcallicotte on March 27, 2009, 08:56:08 am
Yes, reck, this is what I understand.

domdib, yes.  Nehalem. Ahem.
Title: Re: Modo 401
Post by: efflux on March 27, 2009, 01:03:46 pm
Looks cool. I have 203 but never upgraded to 301. There were issues than in my opinion didn't make the upgrade worth it. Sculpting features couldn't compete with the likes of ZBrush or 3D Coat.

Animation needs to get somewhere with 401.
Title: Re: Modo 401
Post by: rcallicotte on March 27, 2009, 01:06:34 pm
Check out the modcast with Seneca (from id Software) - http://www.luxology.com/community/  He talks about using Modo to create terrain for their Rage engine.
Title: Re: Modo 401
Post by: Oshyan on March 30, 2009, 02:56:41 pm
TG's rendering speed does not scale well with the number of cores, but that is not a fundamental limitation of all rendering methods. Being our first pass at multi-threaded rendering, the current TG2 approach is not optimal. Although I doubt we will get to a true linear speedup with the addition of more cores, I think significant improvements can still be made, especially above 4 cores.

A Core i7 (Nehalem) quad core has 8 threads, but only *4 real cores*. Although Nehalem makes significant improvements in the "hyperthreading" technology used to process more threads per physical core, it will still never be equivalent to a true additional core. So while there may be 8 threads, you would perhaps get performance of 5 or 6 "cores". It's still a big improvement.

- Oshyan
Title: Re: Modo 401
Post by: rcallicotte on April 01, 2009, 08:47:25 am
http://forums.luxology.com/discussion/topic.aspx?id=33303
Title: Re: Modo 401
Post by: rcallicotte on April 03, 2009, 10:24:11 am
These presets are amazing.  Check out the latest presets - Presets II
Title: Re: Modo 401
Post by: rcallicotte on April 03, 2009, 01:54:01 pm
http://www.luxology.com/modo/401.presets.part.2/

This newest version in tandem with TG2 could give an artist some latitude.