Planetside Software Forums

Support => Terragen Support => Topic started by: rcallicotte on April 14, 2009, 06:29:20 pm

Title: ctrl-C and ctrl-V
Post by: rcallicotte on April 14, 2009, 06:29:20 pm
These keyboard commands no longer seem to work in the latest version.
Title: Re: ctrl-C and ctrl-V
Post by: Zairyn Arsyn on April 14, 2009, 06:54:27 pm
I have noticed this too, but then I tried it from the edit drop down menu and that seemed to work.
Title: Re: ctrl-C and ctrl-V
Post by: matrix2003 on April 14, 2009, 07:02:17 pm
?   Works in Node window OK   ?   (for me) ???
Title: Re: ctrl-C and ctrl-V
Post by: PG on April 14, 2009, 07:41:12 pm
Works for me too. ;)
Title: Re: ctrl-C and ctrl-V
Post by: rcallicotte on April 14, 2009, 11:00:10 pm
It doesn't work when I copy coordinates from one object to another.  The drop-down (right-click) menu works fine, but the keyboard commands break down.  I don't think it's just me.
Title: Re: ctrl-C and ctrl-V
Post by: Oshyan on April 14, 2009, 11:10:52 pm
I don't think that ever worked nor was ever a feature. I'd say you kind of need to have either a special hotkey, or a menu option - after all, how would the software otherwise know that you want to paste coordinates vs. the whole model, or node, or whatever else?

- Oshyan
Title: Re: ctrl-C and ctrl-V
Post by: jo on April 15, 2009, 01:31:05 am
Hi,

To paste coordinates properly you need to use the popup menus from the buttons with the clipboard icon next to the coord param fields.

Regards,

Jo


Title: Re: ctrl-C and ctrl-V
Post by: rcallicotte on April 15, 2009, 07:41:45 am
I know this worked before.  I used it all of the time.  ctrl-C to copy and ctrl-V to paste.  How it worked, if Jo didn't know about it is beyond me.  But, it did.  LOL
Title: Re: ctrl-C and ctrl-V
Post by: PG on April 15, 2009, 09:57:43 am
That works fine for me as well. Have you recently updated to a new service pack or .NET framework?
Title: Re: ctrl-C and ctrl-V
Post by: jo on April 15, 2009, 10:06:44 am
Hi Calico,

Quote from: calico on April 15, 2009, 07:41:45 am
I know this worked before.  I used it all of the time.  ctrl-C to copy and ctrl-V to paste.  How it worked, if Jo didn't know about it is beyond me.  But, it did.  LOL


Please explain exactly what you are trying to do in as much detail as possible.

Regards,

Jo
Title: Re: ctrl-C and ctrl-V
Post by: rcallicotte on April 15, 2009, 10:20:38 am
Jo,

This is what I do -

I import a TGO of a <whatever> and place it where I want it. 

I set the coordinates of the XYZ for the imported object.

I import another TGO of <something>.

I copy the X of the first TGO (ctrl-C) and paste this into the X of the second TGO (ctrl-V).

It doesn't paste.

This worked until I updated to the new version of TG2. 

To answer PG - not sure what Microsoft's updates would have to do with the ability to cut and paste in TG2.  Cut and paste works fine in all of my other applications.
Title: Re: ctrl-C and ctrl-V
Post by: neuspadrin on April 15, 2009, 10:35:27 am
I noticed this too just recently same issue too when I want to copy just one part of the coordinates.
Title: Re: ctrl-C and ctrl-V
Post by: jo on April 15, 2009, 07:20:37 pm
Hi calico,

I'm not sure what's up. The release version is working fine for me on XP and Vista. I take you are using an English version of the OS?

Regards,

Jo
Title: Re: ctrl-C and ctrl-V
Post by: jo on April 15, 2009, 08:53:29 pm
Hi,

For those having problems with this, do you have any other TG2 windows aside from the main one open when you're having trouble?

Regards,

Jo
Title: Re: ctrl-C and ctrl-V
Post by: neuspadrin on April 15, 2009, 10:49:38 pm
Bah this is annoying me now, I can not replicate it... I know for sure it happened to me, but now going and trying to kick it to do it it always copies and pastes.... hmm...
Title: Re: ctrl-C and ctrl-V
Post by: rcallicotte on April 15, 2009, 10:55:10 pm
Mine still has problems...

I have other windows open - This one, for example.   ::)  I'm not doing anything complex, when I see this problem.
Title: Re: ctrl-C and ctrl-V
Post by: Oshyan on April 15, 2009, 11:13:50 pm
He means other TG2 windows, like separate node windows, additional 3D preview windows, etc.

- Oshyan
Title: Re: ctrl-C and ctrl-V
Post by: rcallicotte on April 16, 2009, 04:07:47 pm
Oh.  Right.  I'll check tonight and get back with you.
Title: Re: ctrl-C and ctrl-V
Post by: j meyer on April 17, 2009, 09:09:56 am
Hi,
for me ctrl+c and ctrl+v does not work in the node view of the main
window copying nodes,no other windows open.
Vista x32.
Title: Re: ctrl-C and ctrl-V
Post by: rcallicotte on April 17, 2009, 11:55:30 am
I had the properties window open for <whatever>.  In this mode, this is still a problem.

I'll try to find a way when it is not a problem and re-post.




Quote from: Oshyan on April 15, 2009, 11:13:50 pm
He means other TG2 windows, like separate node windows, additional 3D preview windows, etc.

- Oshyan
Title: Re: ctrl-C and ctrl-V
Post by: mr-miley on April 23, 2009, 11:29:38 am
Same here for me. As Calico said, I used to copy the value of an "X" (or y or Z) value from the coords of one object using Ctrl C and paste them into the "X" (or y or Z) value using Ctrl V all the time. Since the latest update I cant do that. From memory I can right click in the "cell" and select copy and the right click and select paste, just not do it with keyboard shortcuts. I know this is superceeded by the copy coords button which is superb, but when you just want to use one coord it is a bit of a pain, especially if you are used to the keyboard way. By the way, excellent new release, love all the extra bits  ;D
Title: Re: ctrl-C and ctrl-V
Post by: Oshyan on April 23, 2009, 01:55:36 pm
I think the key here is the single coordinate thing, and may be related to the copy/paste functionality we added. We'll take a look at it.

- Oshyan
Title: Re: ctrl-C and ctrl-V
Post by: neuspadrin on April 23, 2009, 03:10:19 pm
There may be something triggering it after some event, as I know its happened to me before, but when i open up tg2 and just attempt to copy and paste right from a fresh scene, it works, so i've been unable to replicate, and i havn't used tg2 a ton since release due to school work.
Title: Re: ctrl-C and ctrl-V
Post by: commorancy on April 26, 2009, 12:47:10 am
Quote from: jo on April 15, 2009, 08:53:29 pm
Hi,

For those having problems with this, do you have any other TG2 windows aside from the main one open when you're having trouble?

Regards,

Jo


No, no other TG2 windows open.  This is definitely a problem.  These keys are definitely disabled in 2.0.2.1.  I just posted a thread before I found this one.  They don't work for me and haven't since I installed 2.0.2.1.  When I select any object that has the ability to copy/paste, the hot keys do not work.  Even ctrl-z doesn't work (undo).  I haven't had them work since I've installed this version.  Perhaps it has something to do with the addition of ctrl-r ?

Thanks.

Title: Re: ctrl-C and ctrl-V
Post by: jo on April 26, 2009, 01:38:38 am
Hi,

Someone posted a test for this problem on another thread, which I can also reproduce. I'll get started on fixing it.

Regards,

Jo
Title: Re: ctrl-C and ctrl-V
Post by: rcallicotte on April 30, 2009, 09:38:08 pm
Thanks Jo.  At least I can still use the mouse to copy and paste...so...thanks.