Planetside Software Forums

Support => Terragen Support => Topic started by: buzzzzz on February 13, 2007, 12:45:08 am

Title: Some Strong Fricking Sunlight!
Post by: buzzzzz on February 13, 2007, 12:45:08 am
I have a render going on 9 hours now and there's no way I'm stopping it. However, I wanted to let Support know that the Sunlight is coming through a vertical face of the Grand Canyon.  You my already know of this bug but I thought I'd better mention it. I hope this is covered in the next update along with "I Can't Render Water" and you know how much I like rendering water. :o) I'll post the Image with the flaw after it finishes.

Here's the little bugger:
Title: Re: Some Strong Fricking Sunlight!
Post by: vissroid on February 13, 2007, 03:09:56 am
yeah this is a bug that has been found. its on the list to be fixed. :D
Title: Re: Some Strong Fricking Sunlight!
Post by: old_blaggard on February 13, 2007, 09:37:25 am
Nice cliff wall, by the way.  I can't wait to see the final version of this image.
Title: Re: Some Strong Fricking Sunlight!
Post by: Oshyan on February 13, 2007, 10:44:00 pm
Hi Buzzzz, this is a known issue. The current workaround is to turn on Ray-traced shadows in the Quality tab of the atmosphere. Unfortunately this increases render time quite a bit.

- Oshyan
Title: Re: Some Strong Fricking Sunlight!
Post by: buzzzzz on February 14, 2007, 12:35:55 am
Thanks Oshyan! That's great there's a work around and it worked. I'm rendering now and it looks much better. Even with Ray Traced Shadows enabled this is smokin at 2000x1500. Of course I already rendered the sky at roughly 15 hours.
Title: Re: Some Strong Fricking Sunlight!
Post by: Oshyan on February 14, 2007, 12:42:23 am
I forgot to mention that you could also just do a crop render of that part of the image and then paste it over that part of the old image. Save a lot of rendering time since the workaround is only necessary for that little section.

- Oshyan
Title: Re: Some Strong Fricking Sunlight!
Post by: buzzzzz on February 14, 2007, 11:08:07 pm
Quote from: Oshyan on February 14, 2007, 12:42:23 am
I forgot to mention that you could also just do a crop render of that part of the image and then paste it over that part of the old image. Save a lot of rendering time since the workaround is only necessary for that little section.

- Oshyan


Yeah, I started to do that and kept seeing things I wanted to change, hell I reworked the whole scene. Just finishing up spot checking fallen rocks before I put it in the oven.

Thanks Again Oshyan!