Author Topic: non-landscape TG2 only Scene  (Read 6155 times)

Offline Goms

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 331
non-landscape TG2 only Scene
« on: May 13, 2010, 04:57:13 PM »
Hi folks,

i had the idea of creating a non-landscape scene in tg2 only, by which i mean to "model" the objects in tg2.
Well, i'm satisfied with the outcome. It's not a complete image, just a proof of concept.
The file is attached, in case someone wants to play with it or make it a complete image. :)

I think with some more time and energy this could lead to damn cool images, as there are no polygons or limited texture resolutions...
For any questions, ask ;)
Quote from: FrankB
you're never going to finish this image ;-)

Offline FrankB

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3603
Re: non-landscape TG2 only Scene
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2010, 06:56:29 PM »
function madness ;)

Offline Goms

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 331
Re: non-landscape TG2 only Scene
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2010, 07:03:46 PM »
Yip, everything functions, except one power fractal. :D
The bricks where a little hard.
Quote from: FrankB
you're never going to finish this image ;-)

Offline FrankB

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3603
Re: non-landscape TG2 only Scene
« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2010, 08:07:38 PM »
very respectable, although nightmarishly mind bending network you've got here :)

Is that something you are going to use as part of your contest time lapse entry?

Offline jritchie777

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 108
Re: non-landscape TG2 only Scene
« Reply #4 on: May 13, 2010, 08:07:54 PM »
Impressive!  All done with planes - I usually don't have the patience with T2, and tend to build my models in other programs then import them.  I guess I'll rethink that after seeing your project.

It would still be nice to select a plane and manipulate it like other objects - wonder if they will fix that in later versions...?
JR

Offline domdib

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1777
Re: non-landscape TG2 only Scene
« Reply #5 on: May 13, 2010, 08:19:47 PM »
Very impressive work.

Offline Goms

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 331
Re: non-landscape TG2 only Scene
« Reply #6 on: May 13, 2010, 08:37:37 PM »
thx

i think i will try to improve this a little bit....
Quote from: FrankB
you're never going to finish this image ;-)

Offline Goms

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 331
Re: non-landscape TG2 only Scene
« Reply #7 on: May 13, 2010, 09:23:33 PM »
Next picture and next file.
I added a few more details on the surfaces and improved the top geometry a little bit.

I will try to add grass and a window next. :)
Quote from: FrankB
you're never going to finish this image ;-)

Offline dandelO

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2401
Re: non-landscape TG2 only Scene
« Reply #8 on: May 13, 2010, 09:50:44 PM »
Very cool work, Goms! :)

Online Kadri

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8443
Re: non-landscape TG2 only Scene
« Reply #9 on: May 13, 2010, 09:54:01 PM »
Yip, everything functions, except one power fractal. :D
The bricks where a little hard.

Hmm...a little hard? For me  much more like impossible ! Very nice functions Goms .
This is refreshing   :)

Offline jaf

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 768
Re: non-landscape TG2 only Scene
« Reply #10 on: May 13, 2010, 11:54:28 PM »
Reminds me of my old Bryce days when some users would build impressive models with the "primitive" Bryce primitives and booleans.  Things like a steam locomotive, spaceships, etc.

I sure wouldn't have the patience, but that's some nice work and I bet you've learned a lot about node manipulation.  ;D
(05Aug18) Ryzen 1800x, 960 EVO 500GB NVME-M.2 SSD, Corsair Vengeance 64GB DDR4 3200 Mem,  EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 Graphics 399.07 (30Aug18), Win 10 Pro x64, Terragen 4.2.10

Offline mogn

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 443
Re: non-landscape TG2 only Scene
« Reply #11 on: May 14, 2010, 04:01:31 AM »
I like that  :D

Offline Goms

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 331
Re: non-landscape TG2 only Scene
« Reply #12 on: May 14, 2010, 08:34:59 AM »
thx :)

next update: window added and the door is changed.
Quote from: FrankB
you're never going to finish this image ;-)

Offline domdib

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1777
Re: non-landscape TG2 only Scene
« Reply #13 on: May 14, 2010, 09:36:07 AM »
This is growing more and more awesome by the minute  :). I haven't had time to study the file yet, and even if I did, I'm not sure I'd have the expertise to answer this: would it in theory be possible to insert this doorway into a terrain??

Offline Goms

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 331
Re: non-landscape TG2 only Scene
« Reply #14 on: May 14, 2010, 09:49:44 AM »
Yep, shouldn't be a problem. Actually thats a great idea. I will figure something out and include this somehow. ;)

But first i will make this whole thing more easy to understand. I will write something about how i did this later. ;)
Quote from: FrankB
you're never going to finish this image ;-)

 

anything