DOF or focus control?

Started by digitalis99, February 03, 2012, 11:37:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

digitalis99

I've seen it mentioned a few times here that in-app DOF and/or focus control are in the list of features that TG2 will have.  Last I found, at least, was a mention 2 years ago saying it was in alpha.  Is this due to be released in 2.4?  Is 2.4 coming this year?    ;D:o

If not, what are the requirements for being part of the alpha/beta builds?  I'm an IT guy by trade, and have beta tested lots and lots of products.
Pixel Plow :: Render Endlessly :: http://www.pixelplow.net

Tangled-Universe

The DOF is in the current alpha versions, yes.
The reason it's not in the current public builds is that it's still in development.

I don't know whether it will be in 2.4 or not, nor do I know anything about a specific release-date for 2.4 other than it will be this year ;)

Oshyan is usually the right person to answer these questions, also about joining the test team.

Cheers,
Martin

Oshyan

DoF will not be in 2.4. It was added in a fairly simplistic way and, due to heavy work on other features for animation and other areas, we have not been able to address some of its shortcomings. That being said Depth Buffer output will be available in a release this year (not 2.4), so at least you'd be able to do manual DoF based on a depth buffer, much simpler and faster than current workarounds of using a Distance Shader.

- Oshyan

Kadri

Oshyan is there any hope of Multithreading in the 3D preview in this or the near releases ?  :)

Oshyan

2.4 will not include a multithreaded preview. It's something we do intend to do in the future at some point, but we have no specific release target for it as yet.

- Oshyan

Red Eyed Jedi

How about a multi-threaded "Populate All" feature for those with large numbers of populations?

Tangled-Universe

Quote from: Red Eyed Jedi on February 07, 2012, 07:19:31 AM