Author Topic: Windows Vista  (Read 9143 times)

Offline glen5700

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 136
    • 3D Digital Graphics
Windows Vista
« on: July 04, 2007, 08:36:52 PM »
Hi all,
I thought I would share this with you -

Here is a free way you can try Vista on XP.

Warning: a large download is required - about 1.5GB took about 40 - 50 min.
on my cable modem at home with a download manager.

First download Virtual PC from Microsoft, it's free.
http://www.microsoft.com/windows/products/winfamily/virtualpc/default.mspx

Then download Microsoft Windows Vista 30-Day Eval VHD
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=C2C27337-D4D1-4B9B-926D-86493C7DA1AA&DisplayLang=en

This is a virtual hard disk that Virtual PC can boot up, there are
instructions with the download on how to use it.

I have Virtual PC on my system and Win 2000 runs quit well on it. I realize
this isn't the perfect way to try Vista but you can at least give it a test
drive and see if you like it. Here is a screen capture to show you what it looks like.

I have to admit that it runs pretty smoothly.

Glen

Offline zionner

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 486
Re: Windows Vista
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2007, 08:04:19 AM »
Haha..Clever!

Online cyphyr

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4003
    • richardfraser
Re: Windows Vista
« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2007, 12:34:10 PM »
Neat idea. Just one word of warning, Vista will choke on systems with insufficient resources. Dell got into trouble earlier in the year for supplying Vista on machines built with only 512mb Ram. They no longer supply Vista systems with lass than 1 gig of Ram. If your running a Virtual PC you'll need at least 2 gig (preferably more) of ram to get Vista to run smoothly. I used to see no reason to get vista but I'm very glad I made the leap. Vista is great for powerfull systems and absolutely useless of low speced systems.
Richard
www.richardfraser.co.uk
https://www.facebook.com/RichardFraserVFX/
/|\

i7 5930 @3.5Ghz, 32Gb (TG3 benchmark 6:04)
i7 980 OC'd @3.9Ghz, 16Gb (TG3 benchmark 6:30)

Offline old_blaggard

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2524
    • http://sdcarpenter.free.fr/paul/
Re: Windows Vista
« Reply #3 on: July 05, 2007, 03:07:30 PM »
Of course, you could upgrade to Mac and start using a *real* OS :P.

Don't hurt me! ;)
http://www.terragen.org - A great Terragen resource with models, contests, galleries, and forums.

Offline Will

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2282
  • For the easily entertained!
Re: Windows Vista
« Reply #4 on: July 05, 2007, 05:27:40 PM »
or buy a Palm, Palm OS
The world is round... so you have to use spherical projection.

Offline Oshyan

  • Planetside Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 13027
  • Holy snagging ducks!
Re: Windows Vista
« Reply #5 on: July 05, 2007, 05:31:47 PM »
Neat idea. Just one word of warning, Vista will choke on systems with insufficient resources. Dell got into trouble earlier in the year for supplying Vista on machines built with only 512mb Ram. They no longer supply Vista systems with lass than 1 gig of Ram. If your running a Virtual PC you'll need at least 2 gig (preferably more) of ram to get Vista to run smoothly. I used to see no reason to get vista but I'm very glad I made the leap. Vista is great for powerfull systems and absolutely useless of low speced systems.
Richard

What have you found to be the significant improvements/advantages of Vista that justify the higher system requirements?

- Oshyan

Offline Will

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2282
  • For the easily entertained!
Re: Windows Vista
« Reply #6 on: July 05, 2007, 05:58:19 PM »
a new start button  :P
The world is round... so you have to use spherical projection.

Offline rcallicotte

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9542
Re: Windows Vista
« Reply #7 on: July 05, 2007, 07:25:30 PM »
So this is Disney World.  Can we live here?

Offline glen5700

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 136
    • 3D Digital Graphics
Re: Windows Vista
« Reply #8 on: July 05, 2007, 07:49:28 PM »
One thing I should have mentioned is that i gave it 2GB of ram which I'm sure makes a big difference.


Glen

Offline old_blaggard

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2524
    • http://sdcarpenter.free.fr/paul/
Re: Windows Vista
« Reply #9 on: July 05, 2007, 08:01:42 PM »
http://www.terragen.org - A great Terragen resource with models, contests, galleries, and forums.

Online cyphyr

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4003
    • richardfraser
Re: Windows Vista
« Reply #10 on: July 06, 2007, 12:10:18 PM »
Quote
What have you found to be the significant improvements/advantages of Vista that justify the higher system requirements?

Its not that Vista justifies higher system requirements, rather that a high spec system justifies installing Vista.

I guess its difficult to say what is an improvement due to the new OS (Vista 64) and the new system, they both go hand in hand. Prior to installing Vista I was running WinXP 64 Professional on the my new system. Due to my own lack of knowledge I could not get it to recognize all 4 gig of ram. I threw the towel in so to speak and got myself a copy of Vista 64. (I later found a solution to XP not seeing all 4 gig or ram, Bios tweak). That said I had absolutely no problems installing Vista, all hardware drivers went in smoothly, scanner, printer, router etc. I would not say that the improvements in Vista necessarily justify the higher system requirements, however apps that run within Vista are now able to perform so much smoother. Photoshop has no problem accessing huge data files, Lightwave can render massive data sets and the OS just sits in the background doing its job. Cant wait for TG2 to get multi threading! Cold boot time is about 15 sec! The search function is much better/faster (although one really should know where one saved ones files anyway, lol). Fancy new GUI (Aero), take it, leave it or just switch it off!

If you have a system that can support Vista then its a useful choice, if not, then avoid it like the plague.

A low performance system with a high spec OS will be crippled, similarly a high performance system with a low spec OS will also be crippled, so use an OS that is appropriate to your system specs.

Richard
« Last Edit: July 06, 2007, 12:13:51 PM by cyphyr »
www.richardfraser.co.uk
https://www.facebook.com/RichardFraserVFX/
/|\

i7 5930 @3.5Ghz, 32Gb (TG3 benchmark 6:04)
i7 980 OC'd @3.9Ghz, 16Gb (TG3 benchmark 6:30)

Offline Volker Harun

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1490
  • Let there be Rock!
    • NWDA-Net
Re: Windows Vista
« Reply #11 on: July 06, 2007, 02:02:28 PM »
Would a dualcore 1.6GHz with 2GB Ram Notebook which is labeled 'Vista-capable' (!) be worth to be upgraded? I have a spare Vista (that black box, it is office premium I think) lying around at home.

Volker  ??? ??? ;D