Roman ship

Started by Dune, August 20, 2014, 04:03:22 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dune

Thanks Hannes. I work in LW 9, and I don't think such noise modifiers are possible. I made the sail by taking the points in the center (not the edges) and indeed with a soft translate, pulled it out to a rough ballooned sail. But with the cloth simulation I could take some points where the sail is attached to rings and ropes and have it pull more in one way, so stretching occurred between those points. And it only takes a minute or so.

Mahnmut

Nice boat.
About the sail:
In my experience, when the wind is good, there isnĀ“t much flapping  and folding of sails. On the other hand, a realistically tense sail might look less realistic.
Cheers, Jan

masonspappy

Looking better and better....

Dune

You're right, Jan, but I'm not experienced enough to easily make a realistically flapping sail (yet). I can do it by hand, but best would be to let simulated physics do their work.

Last for now.

cyphyr

Love the lighting :)
I'm pretty sure LW9 has a cloth sim. If I remember rightly it was a bit of a headache to get it to work but once understood the results were definitely useable.
Check out this, it's a start and I'm sure you can figure out the rest.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mxM5W4edGXA
www.richardfraservfx.com
https://www.facebook.com/RichardFraserVFX/
/|\

Ryzen 9 5950X OC@4Ghz, 64Gb (TG4 benchmark 4:13)

TheBadger

looking good. The figures read as a little bit cartoony though, but what can you do?
It has been eaten.

Dune

Thanks Richard, I saw that video once, but 'dirpied it' now to have a better look later.

Hannes

A few years ago I did this test animation by just animating a PF power fractal as displacement for the sails. Of course I had to uncheck RT objects.
http://vimeo.com/13200441