Merging heightfields to create a level surface

Started by sboerner, April 02, 2016, 05:51:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

sboerner

I'm fairly new to Terragen and still trying to get my head around all the nodes and how they interact.

Is it possible to create a small, *level* area on a heightfield? My heightfield is based on a DEM, and I'm using a bitmap to create the shape for the level area. The bitmap is projected with an image shader onto the heightfield.

The result I want is a flat, level space for buildings and other structures. In effect, I'm trying to use a projected bitmap to stamp a flat space in the DEM.

I've tried several combinations of heightfield, merge, and image shaders and the best I can do is create a depression that follows the contours of the DEM. I'm sure this is a straightforward problem with a simple solution but I'm stumped.

Schematic of what I need and a rendering what I'm getting attached. Any suggestions would be much appreciated. Thanks!

SB

bobbystahr

Quote from: sboerner on April 02, 2016, 05:51:50 PM
I'm fairly new to Terragen and still trying to get my head around all the nodes and how they interact.

Is it possible to create a small, *level* area on a heightfield? My heightfield is based on a DEM, and I'm using a bitmap to create the shape for the level area. The bitmap is projected with an image shader onto the heightfield.

The result I want is a flat, level space for buildings and other structures. In effect, I'm trying to use a projected bitmap to stamp a flat space in the DEM.

I've tried several combinations of heightfield, merge, and image shaders and the best I can do is create a depression that follows the contours of the DEM. I'm sure this is a straightforward problem with a simple solution but I'm stumped.

Schematic of what I need and a rendering what I'm getting attached. Any suggestions would be much appreciated. Thanks!

SB

check this thread