More Columnar

Started by luvsmuzik, June 27, 2017, 12:16:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

luvsmuzik

Quote from: N-drju on October 12, 2018, 02:31:22 PM
Nice job luvs with these rocks. I'm only starting to learn these features now. :) I believe soft shadows should help. Currently, I am rendering an image with small (2 - 3 meters) terrain bumps and they cast well-blurred shadows with diameter being set to 0.7. You may try it.

This render....soft shadows 2diameter and 18samples .,...increase render time.....5 minutes
Edit Hmmm......before jpg conversion I could see much lighter shadows ...Well maybe it is okay, my preview was at 60%, LOL

Quote from: WASasquatch on October 12, 2018, 02:51:17 PM
Quote from: luvsmuzik on October 12, 2018, 10:58:02 AM
This one really is path traced now. Evidently the change in Ray detail modifier from 0.25 to 1 along with enhance displacement of surface layer made a great difference also. ?
The ground populations of rocks looks really nice over the grass/veggie ground cover. The plant population looks a bit too saturation, though I think that may be from sharpening  + sun angle directly on them. Nice cliffs as well.

Thanks!  That tree is so dense....it is a preset tgo with Creative purchase....

I shall have to doctor the warmth of the rocks in the surface layer colors I think....Its okay, I just like warmer tones

Dune

Yes, with soft shadows that wide you see a difference alright, but I don't think that's really natural. I believe Matt once said that 0.5 is mathematically the best diameter. But the shadows are still pretty dark. With some cloud or just cirrus or an extra light source you may lighten that up.

But it's a really nice render anyway, mind you  ;)

bobbystahr