I have some questions

Started by green_meklar, September 16, 2007, 04:37:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

green_meklar

I have the free versions of Terragen 0.9 and Terragen 2 (please don't think I'm cheap), and recently I somehow managed to figure out enough of the latter to actually make a few images. I'm quite fascinated with Terragen 2's abilities and capacity for realism, but I'm afraid the program is highly counterintuitive and I have a few questions I thought maybe someone could clear up for me. Okay, so maybe it's a lot of questions. It's not my fault I'm a noob!

- Generally I prefer to render my images overnight, because nighttime is usually the longest block of time during which I don't use my computer. This timespan is normally about 9 to 10 hours long. I hope you didn't just eat, because my computer's processor is an Intel Celeron which says it runs at 1300 megahertz, and it has 256 megabytes of real RAM and about 1024 megabytes of page file space split evenly among two separate hard drives. It is running Windows XP Professional, and background processes include Windows Live Messenger, Steam and possibly a few others. Is there any way I can calculate a fairly accurate measurement of the time it will take to render a particular image? What kinds of settings would you suggest to achieve the maximum quality while minimizing the wear on my hard drives, without going over 10 hours?