Author Topic: Mutliples in Terragen?  (Read 1046 times)

Offline Dune

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15056
    • www.ulco-art.nl
Re: Mutliples in Terragen?
« Reply #30 on: October 30, 2018, 06:50:41 AM »
No, but does that save on rendertime? It works the same way, but there's no compute terrain anyway, just the difference between get altitude and displacement to scalar....

Offline mhaze

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3742
Re: Mutliples in Terragen?
« Reply #31 on: October 30, 2018, 09:47:14 AM »
Here's an example using get altitude, slightly easier to mask but harder to set up. I've added a redirect to add to the fun.
« Last Edit: October 30, 2018, 11:14:09 AM by mhaze »

Offline Matt

  • Planetside Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 3537
  • I'm the crazy one
Re: Mutliples in Terragen?
« Reply #32 on: October 30, 2018, 07:23:43 PM »
If you had a lot more terrain shaders in there, then yes, the number of times they are calculated substantially affects the render time (for the same reason that Compute Terrain affects render time). Moreover, someone might follow this whole setup by a Compute Terrain, so you want it to be efficient. Your Displacement to Scalar should be replaced with Get Altitude and its input disconnected. I believe it will produce the same output, but more efficiently.
« Last Edit: October 30, 2018, 07:25:50 PM by Matt »
Just because milk is white doesn't mean that clouds are made of milk.

Offline Dune

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15056
    • www.ulco-art.nl
Re: Mutliples in Terragen?
« Reply #33 on: October 31, 2018, 06:43:28 AM »
Thanks Matt. I wouldn't have thought the difference between get altitude (a calculation, afaik) and displacement to scalar (a calculation) would be that big, but it's good to know.

Offline Oshyan

  • Planetside Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 13022
  • Holy snagging ducks!
Re: Mutliples in Terragen?
« Reply #34 on: October 31, 2018, 08:53:25 PM »
Different calculations have different levels of complexity and thus calculation time. This goes down to even the simplest of calculations, for example addition and subtraction are faster in CPUs than multiplication. Both are "calculations", but one takes more resources/time.

- Oshyan
« Last Edit: November 01, 2018, 03:54:55 AM by Oshyan »

Offline Matt

  • Planetside Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 3537
  • I'm the crazy one
Re: Mutliples in Terragen?
« Reply #35 on: November 01, 2018, 12:20:37 AM »
Displacement to Scalar calculates the tree of nodes input to the Displacement to Scalar (i.e. the fractal in your example, which has hundreds of instructions), while Get Altitude simply reads the displacement that was already in memory and calculates its altitude (which is just one vector subtraction and one dot product).
Just because milk is white doesn't mean that clouds are made of milk.

Offline Dune

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15056
    • www.ulco-art.nl
Re: Mutliples in Terragen?
« Reply #36 on: November 01, 2018, 07:15:37 AM »
Thanks, guys. Learned something again!

Offline WASasquatch

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3136
  • The Homeless Landscape Artist
Re: Mutliples in Terragen?
« Reply #37 on: November 01, 2018, 07:10:07 PM »
Found this digging on the forums by Frank, could be of help with different types of terracing.

https://planetside.co.uk/forums/index.php/topic,13221.0.html
Art can be a window into the soul

Offline WASasquatch

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3136
  • The Homeless Landscape Artist
Re: Mutliples in Terragen? (Terracing Effect Discussion)
« Reply #38 on: November 02, 2018, 06:47:54 AM »
Is it possible to do a conditional to check multiples? Ex ( altitude / scalar ) != 0

Additionally have it recursive for height? From like 0 - alt or alt - 0

What I was thinking of doesn't provide me anything
Art can be a window into the soul