What's your way to add a beautiful snow?

Started by DasFranck, November 03, 2018, 04:43:23 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

DasFranck

Hi folks, I'm kinda new to Terragen and I'm trying to make something that looks good out of it.
And right now, I'm wondering how to add snow but all I've seen sounds more like hacks than real features.

But when I see stuff like on this page, I do think there's a way to do it properly.

Do you have to use other software outside of Terragen or is it a build-in option I've just never heard about?
And for snowfall or rain effects?

Thanks!

(English ain't my first language so grammatical errors can happen :) )

WAS

The surface layer will allow you to define maximum slopes of your snow, as well as in the effects tab you can use intersection tweaks that can create interesting effects. There is a file share "Embossed Snow" you can search that utilizes these features and a good basic setup to inspect. There are also plenty of others but a lot more focused on texturing, reflection, and how it just looks.

Hannes

Hi Franck (is this your real name?)
Welcome to the forum!!!
Here is a clipfile I made for rain. Maybe it's useful:
https://planetside.co.uk/forums/index.php/topic,21035.msg210254.html#msg210254

mhaze

For A start you can:
-Use A surface shader with colour set to white.
-In the Effects tab check Intersect underlying and set to favour depressions.
-Set minimum altitude to taste. You can add a small displacement altitude to give some bulk.
-Make this the last shader in your chain.

File attached.

Dune

Welcome indeed. I hope you'll be having a lot of fun working with TG. Learning curve might be steep, but there's plenty help here.

Btw. added little extra in Mick's file.

DasFranck

First of all, thanks for your replies!

Quote from: WASasquatch on November 03, 2018, 04:55:12 AM