Author Topic: Vector output to ZBrush  (Read 470 times)

Offline mhaze

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3785
Vector output to ZBrush
« on: January 23, 2019, 12:12:32 PM »
I've been following an excellent tutorial on how to convert TG terrains to Vector output. Has anyone tried this with ZBrush as I have totally failed to import the map in any usable way. Help and advice gratefully received.

Offline j meyer

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2160
    • orkwarts
Re: Vector output to ZBrush
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2019, 03:36:13 PM »
Have you seen this video already?

Sorry, had to edit this, because the link lead to the wrong video.
I'll be back soon.
« Last Edit: January 23, 2019, 03:37:53 PM by j meyer »

Offline j meyer

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2160
    • orkwarts
Re: Vector output to ZBrush
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2019, 03:49:16 PM »
Seems like I'm not able to make a link that leads to the video directly.
It's on ZBCentral or youtube under #Ask ZBrush Vol.2 , video no.50.
Titled: #Ask ZBrush:"How can I import and export Vector Displacement Maps for sculpting?"
You should find the solution there.
Sorry for the inconvenient way with no direct link.

Offline mhaze

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3785
Re: Vector output to ZBrush
« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2019, 03:57:06 PM »
Hi, Yep I've watched it and tried it- I get a very stretched sphere with the VDM spread over it.  I've saved the output from TG as a .exr  both 16 and 32 bit and tried both in ZB - no luck!

Offline j meyer

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2160
    • orkwarts
Re: Vector output to ZBrush
« Reply #4 on: January 23, 2019, 04:32:45 PM »
Too bad.
Unfortunately I don't know of any solution here.
Maybe Pixologic's support can help.

Offline mhaze

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3785
Re: Vector output to ZBrush
« Reply #5 on: January 23, 2019, 05:18:32 PM »
I hope so, I've contacted them.

Offline digitalguru

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 461
Re: Vector output to ZBrush
« Reply #6 on: January 23, 2019, 07:21:03 PM »
I don't use Zbrush, but the last I heard it could output vector displacements but not read them, hopefully, that's changed.

Offline mhaze

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3785
Re: Vector output to ZBrush
« Reply #7 on: January 23, 2019, 07:45:02 PM »
No, sadly that's still the case.

Offline mhaze

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3785
Re: Vector output to ZBrush
« Reply #8 on: January 24, 2019, 08:52:35 AM »
Seems mudbox is the only program that can do this - subscription only!

Offline digitalguru

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 461
Re: Vector output to ZBrush
« Reply #9 on: January 24, 2019, 10:10:07 AM »
Yes, but it's not too bad if you only want to use it for a month.
 Shame, because there seem to be a lot more tutorials and examples for sculpting nice rock in Zbrush than Mudbox


Offline mhaze

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3785
Re: Vector output to ZBrush
« Reply #10 on: January 24, 2019, 03:39:28 PM »
I've found another way this time but.. maybe in the future.

Offline D.A. Bentley

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 371
    • D.A. Bentley
Re: Vector output to ZBrush
« Reply #11 on: January 30, 2019, 04:37:18 PM »
Not sure if I understand your question, but ZBrush 2018 does support export of Vector Displacement Maps (VDM).

-Here are some links-

Video showing the VDM Export Process (skipped ahead to correct time):
https://youtu.be/F_uus4pQVPA?t=310

ZBrush Docs on VDMs:
http://docs.pixologic.com/user-guide/3d-modeling/exporting-your-model/vector-displacement-maps/

A video showing you how to create a "VDM Brush" in ZBrush (not a map but useful in ZBrush):
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Aul9wWSovNs

Also there are other Apps as mentioned that can export VDMs such as Mudbox, Modo, and Terragen.

Mudbox Videos:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fJJQaQDRkG8
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vkb9HX6FSZE

Modo:
https://learn.foundry.com/modo/content/help/pages/sculpting/sculpt_commands.html
http://community.foundry.com/discuss/topic/36800/geometry-to-brush-how-does-it-work

Terragen:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bTKfAeEPDhY&feature=youtu.be
https://planetside.co.uk/forums/index.php?topic=21311.0

I'm not sure, but Blender might export VDMs as well.

Hope that helps,

Derek




Offline mhaze

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3785
Re: Vector output to ZBrush
« Reply #12 on: January 30, 2019, 04:41:55 PM »
The problem is importing a terragen generated VDM into another software.

Offline D.A. Bentley

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 371
    • D.A. Bentley
Re: Vector output to ZBrush
« Reply #13 on: January 30, 2019, 04:45:18 PM »
The problem is importing a terragen generated VDM into another software.

Ah, I see.  Well there are plenty of programs that can import/convert VDMs to a 3D mesh, so you could just convert the mesh to an OBJ model and import that into ZBrush.  :)

Modo can freeze Displacement, and Vector Displacement to a mesh item:
https://learn.foundry.com/modo/content/help/pages/layout/freezing_geometry.html?Highlight=Vector%20Displacement

Blender seems to be capable of doing this (Export mesh with VDM applied):
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vgKjn1mV2hI
https://docs.blender.org/manual/en/latest/render/cycles/nodes/types/vector/vector_displacement.html
« Last Edit: January 30, 2019, 05:15:55 PM by D.A. Bentley »

Offline mhaze

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3785
Re: Vector output to ZBrush
« Reply #14 on: January 31, 2019, 08:56:48 AM »
Thanks I'll investigate.

 

anything