Machine requirements vs time for some quality 5 - 10 min animation??

Started by CamdenJayce, July 22, 2020, 07:04:04 am

Previous topic - Next topic

CamdenJayce

Big question: I have no experience with Terragen animation: But if I wanted to make a some standard quality (not extreme quality) animation of 5-10 min and not go thru a render farm: What kind of machine requirements or how many machines in a what category do I need to have to have it rendered in a week to ten days? How much money do I need to invest in computer power? This is just a question where I am searching for some kind of feel for what I am dealing with: But if somebody have thought this thru, or actually know, an answer would be great

Kadri

How much money do you want to spend? Buy the best pc with the fastest cpu you can buy for that money.

Kadri

If i have calculated it right a 10 minute animation with even 1 minute per frame would take 10 days.
10 minutes per frame would take 100 days.

I had animation with 5 minutes per frames. But i had some that had 3 hours and more per frame.
Speed depends on the cpu too etc.... So your question looks easy but is harder then it looks to give a good answer.

KlausK

Hi, no idea about prices atm but the general rule should be what Kadri wrote.
Lots of CPU processing power / cores (but not to many because atm TG cannot use more than 64? not sure)
and the highest speed possible.
No need for a fast graphic card (for rendering) because TG does not use it.

Take a look at the this:
https://planetside.co.uk/terragen-4-benchmark/
There is a page with all the result of render times of the machines used.
That might help to get a overview about what you might expect with a certain configuration.
https://planetside.co.uk/terragen-4-benchmark-results/

In the long run you might be better off and "cheaper" using a render service.
If you calculate the power consumption of a strong computer running 24 hours for many days