Newbie question - difference between 1024*768 and larger image + downscaling

Started by Zakharov, September 05, 2008, 04:08:58 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Zakharov

Hi everybody,
I'm new to Terragen but I love it. Unfortunately, my attempts so far suffer from rather "wishy-washy" resolution. Can you enhance the resolution by a better management of the surface controls or is this due to the maximum of 1024*768 pixel the unregistered version allows?
Perhaps someone can give me an example of a pic rendered with 1024*768 and the same pic rendered with a higher resolution an downscaling? I would love to see what difference this procedure makes.

buzzzzz1

Hi,

I worked with TG9 for a little while but unfortunately I don't have any examples of the differences. Perhaps Planetside will jump in and give you some examples if they want to sell you a license.
XFX 750i SLI  nFORCE Mobo
Intel Core2 Duo E8400 3.00 GHz Wolfdale
8 Gig Corsair DDR2 6400
Nvidia GForce 9600 GSO 768 MB
XP Pro 64 bit OS

dandelO

The main benefit of rendering larger and downsizing is detail.

A large image of a scene needs to draw more pixels over the area rendered. More pixels drawn = more detail.
When you downsize(and complementeraly(is it a word?) sharpen it to keep out the blur), you are shrinking all the extra pixels at the same time.

Think like this, in a 400x300px. render of a scene, a crack in the terrain(for a crude example) might be adequately drawn 1px wide, double the render dimensions to 800x600 and 4 times the amount of pixels need to be drawn for that same area(because four 400x300px's will fill an 800x600px render). Now, instead of a 1px wide line being drawn as the crack, a 4px wide area is needed. This will obviously contain more detail as the crack's smaller details will be drawn(details that are smaller than the 1px needed for the smaller render), a 1px line is just not adequate for a crack when rendered larger.

I know this is rough but it's the general idea. Hope that helps.