Newb needs example file

Started by jt256, March 29, 2009, 07:51:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jt256

Hi All. I'm a newb. I've dabbled with the previous version, but recently got a new Intel Core I7 and thought it was time to give TG2 a go.

I hope you'll forgive me for being lazy, but at the mo I just don't have the time to hunt through the forums looking for all the hard to find tutorial stuff. I could easily spend hours and get nowhere, knowing me.

So I'd be really grateful if someone could send me a test TG2 file (heightfile plus proj file) that I can just load up and experiment with. I'm after something that looks like a mountain. I don't care about water or clever stuff. I just want a generic looking mountain with grass and a few rocks. I don't even care about snow. One or two clouds would be nice.

Can anyone send me something like that? It would be mega useful, and I hope you'll understand why I've turned to you experts before trying to figure out everything for myself. If I had time I would have a go, but thought it would be better if an expert could just send me a zip file all ready to load and go. What d'you think? Or if anyone has a link already to a 'generic mountain' then I'd love to see it! Thanks a million

jt256

Thank you for these links, which as far as I can tell are just branches off the main discussion forums page, which I found earlier.

As I suspected I've wasted a couple of hours hunting through them, yes there are some tg2 examples but none seem to be what I'm looking for. Partly this is because the thread titles often don't give much away.

Short of forcing me to look through every post and open every file, I was hoping an experienced user might be able to just send me a .tgd (I know now that's what I'm after) which a generic type mountain that I can just press render and see how it turns out.

Is this possible? Many thanks to anyone willing to help me.

Martians

Hi,

Perhaps you could try out Luc Bianco's Canyon pack?