Vue user considering T2 - thoughts?

Started by Shackleton, May 03, 2009, 01:26:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Shackleton

Hey all! Noob here. I've been watching Terragen, actually for years now. I'm a long-time Vue user and an active member over at Cornucopia3D. 3D is the youngest of my A/V pursuits; started with Bryce - didn't take to it - then tried Vue and loved it... for a while that is. I still use Vue routinely but I have complaints that I'm sure any of you fellow Vuers know well. First and foremost is stability, or rather the lack there of. The second thing (or group of things) which is getting worse is E-on's attitude and pricing.

So, I'm now more seriously considering a replacement for Vue, long term. I've just downloaded the free trial of T2 to check it out. If it looks and works well, I'll definitely buy. But regardless I just wanted to see what any of you might have to say regarding pros, cons, whatever, for a Vue INF user switching to T2.

Thanks a bunch for your time and comments.
Cheers!  8)

P.S. Kudos to the planetside's tech team for choosing SMF for the forum board. Great move.

All that is gold does not glitter; not all those that wander are lost.
JRR Tolkien

Tangled-Universe

Welcome to the forums!

You already gave some pros like stability, attitude and pricing. TG2 used to have stability issues as well but that has improved greatly in the past year, further the attitude and pricing are very good :) The staff is very small, very busy and very willing to help, but they aren't always capable of direct help/support.
No worries, because as you may have seen here already (don't know) you'll find many users here willing to help each other.
These forums offer a lot of resources and knowledge from first-hour TG(2) hobbyists to guys from the industry.

I virtually don't have any experience with Vue, but from the things I hear a con of TG is the lack of control for placing things like clouds and objects.