Author Topic: 2 renders...  (Read 11250 times)

Offline Rich

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 36
2 renders...
« on: February 01, 2007, 01:49:43 AM »
hey, here are 2 of my latest renders if anyone wants to check them out....

1. A desert scene with low lying thick clouds and some high cirrus
http://www.deviantart.com/deviation/47801760/

2.A snowy scene
http://www.deviantart.com/deviation/47795074/

Offline old_blaggard

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2524
    • http://sdcarpenter.free.fr/paul/
Re: 2 renders...
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2007, 02:56:45 AM »
I really like the clouds in your desert scene.  Your small sand dunes look good, but I think it would have brought the image to the next level if you had made some dunes with a larger scale and maybe added a small scaled fake stones shader with low to medium density.  Your snow scene looks nice too, aside from a slightly (in my opinion) too sharp boundary between the snow and the rock.
http://www.terragen.org - A great Terragen resource with models, contests, galleries, and forums.

Offline Rich

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: 2 renders...
« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2007, 03:30:13 AM »
thanks...i wanted to make the dunes have that wispy overhang look, im not smart enough yet...
and i know about the snow-rock boundary but i dont know how to make it look better :(
anyway, thanks for the comment.

Offline Will

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2282
  • For the easily entertained!
Re: 2 renders...
« Reply #3 on: February 01, 2007, 09:20:10 AM »
I love the desert scene, the snowy scene is good too but it does not have the same feel.

Regards,

Will
The world is round... so you have to use spherical projection.

Offline king_tiger_666

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 464
    • Terragen & 1:35th Scale Models & New Zealand Photography
Re: 2 renders...
« Reply #4 on: February 01, 2007, 10:21:41 AM »
great ripples on the dunes... are they done with a texture or another method?


<a href="www.hobbies.nzaus.co.nz/">My  Terragen Downloads & Gallery[/url]

Offline Samoth

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: 2 renders...
« Reply #5 on: February 01, 2007, 11:41:13 AM »
Those are 2 very nice renders.

keep up the good work ^^

Offline crazymonkey

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 49
Re: 2 renders...
« Reply #6 on: February 02, 2007, 10:45:48 AM »
really nice atmos in both pieces :)

Offline Rich

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: 2 renders...
« Reply #7 on: February 02, 2007, 09:33:03 PM »
thanks, they are not done with a texture, but are actually a part of the terrain.

Offline Dark Fire

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 711
    • g400.co.uk
Re: 2 renders...
« Reply #8 on: February 03, 2007, 11:22:34 AM »
I love the desert scene, the snowy scene is good too but it does not have the same feel.

Regards,

Will
I agree with Will here - the images are both great but, for some reason, I seem to like the desert one more. I suppose it's because too many mountain renders have been done with Terragen, whereas that desert render looks like nothing I've ever seen before...

Offline littlecannon

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 501
Re: 2 renders...
« Reply #9 on: February 03, 2007, 02:15:37 PM »
thanks, they are not done with a texture, but are actually a part of the terrain.

Hi Rich
Great images, I think the dunes are outstanding and by far the better image imo.
Could you explain a bit more about the displacement method you used to achieve the sand ripples please.
Simon.
I just need to tweak that texture a bit more...

Offline mrwho

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 273
Re: 2 renders...
« Reply #10 on: February 03, 2007, 04:34:32 PM »
yeah, please explain how you got the dune ripples (displacement?)

Offline Rich

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: 2 renders...
« Reply #11 on: February 04, 2007, 05:31:27 PM »
ok i think i can explain it.
The basic part is a displacement shader, that goes into compute terrain.
On the function input of the displacement shader attach a Perlin 3D scalar. On the input of that attach a Multiply vector. Multiply vector has 2 inputs. On one is a "Get position", and on the other is a "Constant vector". My XYZ values for the Constant vector are 0.7,3,3. That's prettymuch it, then I added a terrain to the input of the Displacement shader. Oh and the Displacement shader displacement multiplier value is set to 0.15. I also added very small stones of a slightly different colour to give texture to the sand, and currently am rendering an updated version with more small scale ripples in the sand (added another displacement shader that has a build vector)

Offline John2k6

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 37
Re: 2 renders...
« Reply #12 on: February 04, 2007, 07:37:42 PM »
thanks :) will try that ;)

Offline king_tiger_666

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 464
    • Terragen & 1:35th Scale Models & New Zealand Photography
Re: 2 renders...
« Reply #13 on: February 04, 2007, 07:46:39 PM »
will be giving that a go at some stage.. thanks for sharing

<a href="www.hobbies.nzaus.co.nz/">My  Terragen Downloads & Gallery[/url]

Offline littlecannon

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 501
Re: 2 renders...
« Reply #14 on: February 04, 2007, 07:52:05 PM »
Thanks Rich, well explained.

Simon.
I just need to tweak that texture a bit more...

 

anything