My planets are way way too faint

Started by Jane, February 10, 2007, 03:23:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jane

I am trying to add an object, a planet or a moon, to hover in the sky over top of the mountains, and I am having a problem getting my planets to show up, they are so faint that you can barely see them.  They end up clear and transparent.
Yes, I am a beginner.
I try to put color into them but still no go.
Some of my classmates are having the same problem.
Could someone here give us a quick tut on how to put some color or at least make them opaque. Or bright!
We did fine with the Earth, but one in the sky is our trouble.
Thank you!
Jane

MeltingIce

A render and/or .tgd would help greatly, as I have no clue why this is happening.  My first guess would be that the planet isn't transparent but just hard to see through the atmosphere.

MeltingIce Network | Wii Number: 3881 9574 8304 0277

Jane

Ive got one cookin' now on my other Mac, will put it here very soon,,,,
Then we can see where I am going wrong, I hope.
Thank you,
Jane

Jane

Here it is, I made it dark red, its very very light pink.

Its behind the clouds, but still its way too light for what I need.
(I Photoshopped it for more contrast)
Jane

Will

well you could tone down the color to make it less vibrent, you could place it farther away, or you could photoshop it. these are just some quick fixs mind you.

Regards,

Will
The world is round... so you have to use spherical projection.

old_blaggard

Will - don't you mean place the planet closer to get a more vibrant color?
http://www.terragen.org - A great Terragen resource with models, contests, galleries, and forums.

Jane

I made the color bright so that I could find it, some of the others I made were not visible at all.
Is there a way to make them look more 'solid'?  I will leave the clouds out of the next one.
Thanks again,
Jane

Angealus