need a little help with my settings

Started by TheBadger, June 16, 2010, 05:33:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

TheBadger

Hello all,
If anyone can help me configure my basic render settings for terragen2, I would be very grateful.
I know that this stuff is covered often, but I would like answers based on my specific system.
Nonetheless, all general info for all the render tabs, with my system in mind will be thankfully heard.
Fast and quality (as much as I can have the two at the same time) is the goal.

This is what Im working with
Mac Pro
OS X 10.6.3
Quad-Core Intel Xeon
2.26 GHz
Processors 2
Total Number Of Cores 8
L2 Cache (per core):   256 KB
L3 Cache (per processor):   8 MB
Memory: 8 GB
Processor Interconnect Speed: 5.86 GT/s

I am very new to Terragen2, but feel I am making progress thanks to all of you. (And special thanks to John Robertson for the  "Create Ben McDuff
An Introductory (hands on) tutorial to Terragen 2", pdf I found through this forum. If anyone knows of more like it please tell me!)

My question is, in the renders tab, what should my settings be based on the info I gave above?

Threads refer to cores, yes?

I know that 64 bit terragen2 is not yet here, but will it be soon, and will I be given a free upgrade since I just bought my copy of the program?

In general, what are good setting if i want quality and speed , please also talk about all the render tabs that i should understand. I know every project is different, just be general and specific if possible, and keep my info above in mind.

I thank you for whatever help you can give with such open ended questions.

Badger

It has been eaten.

Henry Blewer

http://flickr.com/photos/njeneb/
Forget Tuesday; It's just Monday spelled with a T

TheBadger

Thanks njeneb

That link helped to get me to a good starting point.

But if anyone can tell me how to manage my threads based on the info at the top of this thread that would be great too. Everything will prob help me.
It has been eaten.