Author Topic: screwing around with architecture  (Read 21641 times)

Offline Kadri

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8502
Re: screwing around with architecture
« Reply #30 on: July 07, 2015, 08:37:55 PM »

This is the same issue maybe :

http://www.planetside.co.uk/forums/index.php/topic,19431.msg190539.html#msg190539

Basic smoothing might help hopefully.

Offline TheBadger

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7416
  • what's the difference?
Re: screwing around with architecture
« Reply #31 on: July 07, 2015, 08:49:07 PM »

This is the same issue maybe :

http://www.planetside.co.uk/forums/index.php/topic,19431.msg190539.html#msg190539

Basic smoothing might help hopefully.

Mesh displacer. OK, I have to read that thread real close again now. I am in T3 and the full pro version. It is interesting though. When I open this project, "displacing/deforming mesh" happens automatically before the project is fully open. I am not sure what that is doing?
It has been eaten.

Offline Kadri

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8502
Re: screwing around with architecture
« Reply #32 on: July 07, 2015, 08:58:01 PM »

Not sure what problem you have. But the important part is in Matt's answers on that link in the second page.
You have to smooth the normals of your object before importing to TG3 if you want to render with Ray trace object OFF.
If this is your problem it might be easy to fix hopefully.

Offline TheBadger

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7416
  • what's the difference?
Re: screwing around with architecture
« Reply #33 on: July 07, 2015, 09:00:39 PM »
not even sure what is meant by smooth normals. I know how to smooth geometry, but is that the same? I am modeling this in Maya if that maters?
It has been eaten.

Offline TheBadger

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7416
  • what's the difference?
Re: screwing around with architecture
« Reply #34 on: July 07, 2015, 09:11:22 PM »
OK really last one. JUst wanted to do some better post.
It has been eaten.

Offline Kadri

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8502
Re: screwing around with architecture
« Reply #35 on: July 07, 2015, 09:18:42 PM »

Don't add more polygons (don't subdivide). You only smooth the normals. The polygon count doesn't change.
If you need to have more polygons that is another thing.
The most basic way (i don't use Maya) is our standard friend Poseray .
Maya sure must have a similar option.

Edit: http://www.planetside.co.uk/forums/index.php/topic,17384.msg168591.html#msg168591
        There are better threads around too i think about this.
        But you have a Mac i think?
« Last Edit: July 07, 2015, 09:22:01 PM by Kadri »


Offline fleetwood

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1232
Re: screwing around with architecture
« Reply #37 on: July 07, 2015, 10:22:46 PM »
I think J. Meyer's recent post on 3d models is probably very relevant to this.

http://www.planetside.co.uk/forums/index.php/topic,20209.msg199715.html#msg199715


What I just found is that unchecking Double-sided surface in my cube object gives the edges a much better look.
« Last Edit: July 08, 2015, 03:56:07 AM by fleetwood »

Offline Kadri

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8502
Re: screwing around with architecture
« Reply #38 on: July 07, 2015, 10:36:44 PM »

Yep, same solution for a different problem.

Offline bobbystahr

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10345
  • Turn, and face the Strange Ch Ch Changes...D Bowie
Re: screwing around with architecture
« Reply #39 on: July 07, 2015, 11:03:59 PM »

Yep, same solution for a different problem.

Ah ha...yes it's a solid...double sided is mainly for single pixel thick planes/windows and stuff like that.
something borrowed,
something Blue.
Ring out the Old.
Bring in the New
Bobby Stahr, Paracosmologist

Offline TheBadger

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7416
  • what's the difference?
Re: screwing around with architecture
« Reply #40 on: July 07, 2015, 11:51:42 PM »
unchecking Double-sided surface blows up my model.


 :-[ ???
« Last Edit: July 07, 2015, 11:54:17 PM by TheBadger »
It has been eaten.

Offline Kadri

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8502
Re: screwing around with architecture
« Reply #41 on: July 08, 2015, 12:06:35 AM »

Try "smooth normals" or whatever it is in Maya.  That was what i mean.

Offline Kadri

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8502
Re: screwing around with architecture
« Reply #42 on: July 08, 2015, 12:08:34 AM »

We can try the most basic way. Upload one rock without any texture to me if you will.I will try it.

Offline Dune

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15130
    • www.ulco-art.nl
Re: screwing around with architecture
« Reply #43 on: July 08, 2015, 06:08:54 AM »
Something else I notice, but I might be wrong; are your corners really rounded? Looking at the poly edges you don't see the corner in the smallest corner polys move inward slightly, if you get my point. Hard to see though.

Offline bobbystahr

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10345
  • Turn, and face the Strange Ch Ch Changes...D Bowie
Re: screwing around with architecture
« Reply #44 on: July 08, 2015, 01:32:14 PM »
There's that; and I noticed they needed a rounded bevel as they look razor sharp and an ancient building would have a fair bit of the sharpness worn off over time.
something borrowed,
something Blue.
Ring out the Old.
Bring in the New
Bobby Stahr, Paracosmologist

 

anything