Author Topic: Artifacts- Atmo appears through terrain  (Read 14666 times)

Offline Tangled-Universe

  • Terrevangelist
  • *
  • Posts: 6183
    • CGScenery.com - Terragen Tutorials!
Re: Artifacts- Atmo appears through terrain
« Reply #30 on: February 18, 2009, 06:50:38 AM »
Reduced AA from 14 to 6; and, the problem still exists.

Again I wasn't saying this would help :) lol...it seems you were very eager to solve this :P
I was thinking out loud how the software works/behaves.

Glad to see resolution-reduction seemed to help, though it makes me wonder why.
Think it must have to do with renderbucket-size related to the resolution (and maybe AA as well).
Never mind, just think out loud again :)

Offline Oshyan

  • Planetside Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 13198
  • Holy snagging ducks!
Re: Artifacts- Atmo appears through terrain
« Reply #31 on: February 18, 2009, 06:57:35 AM »
Reduced AA from 14 to 6; and, the problem still exists.

Again I wasn't saying this would help :) lol...it seems you were very eager to solve this :P
I was thinking out loud how the software works/behaves.

Glad to see resolution-reduction seemed to help, though it makes me wonder why.
Think it must have to do with renderbucket-size related to the resolution (and maybe AA as well).
Never mind, just think out loud again :)
That's my thinking exactly - changing the resolution moved the render bucket borders. The problem may still exist though, it might just occur in a different place.

Bob, are you using a lot of displacement here?

- Oshyan

Offline choronr

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4582
Re: Artifacts- Atmo appears through terrain
« Reply #32 on: February 18, 2009, 05:42:01 PM »
Reduced AA from 14 to 6; and, the problem still exists.

Again I wasn't saying this would help :) lol...it seems you were very eager to solve this :P
I was thinking out loud how the software works/behaves.

Glad to see resolution-reduction seemed to help, though it makes me wonder why.
Think it must have to do with renderbucket-size related to the resolution (and maybe AA as well).
Never mind, just think out loud again :)
Hi Oshyan,

Yes, I've used minimal displacements on base colors and four surface layers. You can see these in the .tgd file. The terrain includes strata/outcrops as well.

Bob
That's my thinking exactly - changing the resolution moved the render bucket borders. The problem may still exist though, it might just occur in a different place.

Bob, are you using a lot of displacement here?

- Oshyan

Offline Cyber-Angel

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 960
Re: Artifacts- Atmo appears through terrain
« Reply #33 on: February 18, 2009, 09:36:52 PM »
If you use the magnification tool built into TG2 you will find that these artifacts and small [and some larger] holes in the terrain, it should be noted that as far as I know the issue did not exist in the version of TG2 we had at the time of the release of build 1.10.23.1 which is the beta we have today. Why this happens I have not been able to determine, but has others have noted it dose seem to be related to some kind of displacement issue. I hope these few words help track down the route cause of the issue.  ;D

Regards to you.

Cyber-Angel       
« Last Edit: April 13, 2009, 03:33:02 PM by Cyber-Angel »

Offline choronr

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4582
Re: Artifacts- Atmo appears through terrain
« Reply #34 on: February 18, 2009, 10:08:35 PM »
If you you the magnification tool built into TG2 you will find that these artifacts and small [and some larger] holes in the terrain, it should be noted that as far as I know the issue did not exist in the version of TG2 we had at the time of the release of build 1.10.23.1 which is the beta we have today. Why this happens I have not been able to determine, but has others have noted it dose seem to be related to some kind of displacement issue. I hope these few words help track down the route cause of the issue.  ;D

Regards to you.

Cyber-Angel       
Thanks C-A, I'll be looking for another POV on the terrain and using the same settings. Through some earlier suggestions by T-U, I'll be making some adjustments to see whether or not I run into the same problem.

Bob

Offline Matt

  • Planetside Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 3583
  • I'm the crazy one
Re: Artifacts- Atmo appears through terrain
« Reply #35 on: February 20, 2009, 07:42:52 AM »
I'm investigating this now.

Matt
Just because milk is white doesn't mean that clouds are made of milk.

Offline RArcher

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1062
    • Archer Designs
Re: Artifacts- Atmo appears through terrain
« Reply #36 on: February 20, 2009, 03:10:05 PM »
If you need additional files where this tearing of the displacement happens let me know and I can provide a few.

Offline choronr

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4582
Re: Artifacts- Atmo appears through terrain
« Reply #37 on: February 20, 2009, 03:18:13 PM »
If you need additional files where this tearing of the displacement happens let me know and I can provide a few.
Thanks RA, I might be needing them in a few days.

Offline choronr

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4582
Re: Artifacts- Atmo appears through terrain
« Reply #38 on: February 20, 2009, 03:18:57 PM »
I'm investigating this now.

Matt

Thanks Matt; hope you find something on this.

Bob

Offline Tangled-Universe

  • Terrevangelist
  • *
  • Posts: 6183
    • CGScenery.com - Terragen Tutorials!
@ Matt: Artifacts-problems already solved?
« Reply #39 on: March 08, 2009, 01:00:37 PM »
Hi Matt,

Did you already have time to investigate this?
I'm having serious problems rendering a scene because of these artifacts as you can see in the image below.
Tried many different resolutions and rendersettings, but can't get rid of them.
If you'd like I can send you the .tgd.

Thanks in advance,

Martin

Offline Mohawk20

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1570
  • Custom worlds on request... habitable on delivery.
Re: Artifacts- Atmo appears through terrain
« Reply #40 on: March 08, 2009, 10:03:12 PM »
I'd say your displacements are way to large to handle...
Howgh!

Offline Oshyan

  • Planetside Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 13198
  • Holy snagging ducks!
Re: Artifacts- Atmo appears through terrain
« Reply #41 on: March 09, 2009, 08:11:03 AM »
Nice rock formations! We're currently investigating these displacement rendering issues. I do think it may be helpful to send your TGD in. You can use the support address, support AT planetside.co.uk

- Oshyan

Offline Tangled-Universe

  • Terrevangelist
  • *
  • Posts: 6183
    • CGScenery.com - Terragen Tutorials!
Re: Artifacts- Atmo appears through terrain
« Reply #42 on: March 09, 2009, 11:05:59 AM »
Nice rock formations! We're currently investigating these displacement rendering issues. I do think it may be helpful to send your TGD in. You can use the support address, support AT planetside.co.uk

- Oshyan

Thanks for your response oshyan.
Yesterday I spent about 5 hours solving this, from which 2 together with FrankB. We were unable to resolve the responsible nodes.
Therefore I sent an email to Matt himself. However, next time I will send it to the appropriate address.

Martin

Offline Oshyan

  • Planetside Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 13198
  • Holy snagging ducks!
Re: Artifacts- Atmo appears through terrain
« Reply #43 on: March 10, 2009, 04:33:02 AM »
Nice rock formations! We're currently investigating these displacement rendering issues. I do think it may be helpful to send your TGD in. You can use the support address, support AT planetside.co.uk

- Oshyan

Thanks for your response oshyan.
Yesterday I spent about 5 hours solving this, from which 2 together with FrankB. We were unable to resolve the responsible nodes.
Therefore I sent an email to Matt himself. However, next time I will send it to the appropriate address.

Martin

That's fine, he is the one working directly on it anyway. :)

- Oshyan

Offline rcallicotte

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9542
Re: Artifacts- Atmo appears through terrain
« Reply #44 on: March 10, 2009, 12:50:41 PM »
TU, thanks for doing this.  I'm assuming you have been working on the package for Frank's site.  Whether yes or no, your work will benefit us all.  Thank you.
« Last Edit: March 10, 2009, 08:48:33 PM by calico »
So this is Disney World.  Can we live here?

 

anything